The Caribbean Community (CARICOM) has stated its strong objection to the recent decision by the European Commission to “blacklist” a number of CARICOM Member States for allegedly not co-operating on tax law enforcement with European Union countries.

The Community, in a Statement issued Thursday *(see below)*, described the Commission’s assertion as patently false in view of the continued efforts by CARICOM Member States to comply with the onerous and unilaterally imposed regulatory measures.

The Commission earlier this month named Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and the Turks and Caicos Islands on its list of non-co-operative Tax jurisdictions and counties.