The Bahamas Financial Services Board (BFSB) celebrated the 10th anniversary of its Industry Excellence Awards programme last week, at a Gala Dinner held in the Independence Ballroom of the Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort. At that time, the Recipients of the 2010 Student of the Year, Achiever of the Year, Professional of the Year, and Executive of the Year were announced – academy award style. Also recognised at the awards ceremony were the recipients of the 2010 Development and Promotion Award, and the new BFSB Mentorship Award. The latter was introduced this year to commemorate the anniversary celebration.

The 2010 Recipients are:

* Achiever of the Year: Dominique L. Glinton, Legal Administrator/Office Manager, Glinton Sweeting O’Brien
* Professional of the Year: Veronica Moncur-Sherman, Team Head, Asia Desk, UBS Trustees (Bahamas) Ltd.
* Executive of the Year: John M. Lawrence, Chairman, Windermere Corporate Services Ltd.
* Student of the Year: Edmund T. Bain – BBA Accounting

The Bahamas Financial Services Board (BFSB) selected Pamela L. Klonaris, LLB, LLM, TEP for its 2010 Development & Promotion Award in recognition of her development of the SMART© Fund 006 Model.

Eve M. Burrows-Poitier, CFA (Retired, Head of Economics, Banking & Finance Department, College of the Bahamas) was chosen as the Recipient of the first [Mentorship Award](

BFSB introduced the Industry Excellence Awards Programme in 2001, in collaboration with the FSI Industry Associations to recognise excellence in performance amongst industry practitioners. This year, the Association of International Banks & Trust Companies in The Bahamas (AIBT) joined forces with BFSB to enhance the profile of the annual Financial Services Industry Excellence Award for the “Achiever of the Year”. In addition to the recognition and awards presented in this category by BFSB, Achiever of the Year Dominique Glinton received the AIBT Professional Education Prize.