Association of International Banks & Trust Companies in The Bahamas (AIBT) has joined forces with the Bahamas Financial Services Board (BFSB) to enhance the profile of the annual Financial Services Industry Excellence Award for the “Achiever of the Year”.

In addition to the recognition and awards presented in this category by BFSB, the Achiever of the Year will receive the AIBT Professional Education Prize. AIBT Chairman David Arner says the Association is pleased to work with BFSB in augmenting the annual award for junior and support staff. Nominees in this category must demonstrate an outstanding work ethic and professionalism in executing duties, and must have accomplished personal and corporate goals. He said, “The AIBT has always had a strong focus on education and the development of the local workforce. This new annual award acknowledges the importance of internationally recognised qualifications and will we hope encourage others to consider pursuing similar courses of study.”

BFSB introduced its Financial Services Industry Excellence Awards in 2001 to recognise role models for their outstanding performance and contribution to the growth and development of the financial services industry in The Bahamas. Specifically, the Awards recognise the importance of quality human resources for the success of the industry in the categories of “Executive of the Year”, “Professional of the Year”, and “Achiever of the Year”. The programme also includes the category of Financial Services Development & Promotion, with an award given either to an individual or an institution in recognition of any entrepreneurial undertaking(s) promoting the viability and strength of the sector. This can include, but is not limited to, new business expansion, the creation of niche markets, or the development of new marketing efficiencies.

The AIBT Professional Education Prize effectively is tuition for one of four (4) Certified programmes offered by the Bahamas Institute of Financial Services: Certified Financial Planner, Certified Credit Professional, Certified Wealth Manager, and Certified International Risk Manager.
The 2010 Awards will be presented at a Gala Dinner on Friday, October 22nd, in the Independence Ballroom of the Sheraton Nassau Beach Resort. Contact BFSB for information on the nominations process or to make reservations for the event.

Photo Caption: *AIBT Chairman David Thain presenting BFSB CEO & Executive Director Wendy Warren with the commitment letter for the Professional Education Prize.*