The Bahamas Financial Services Board (BFSB) last week opened nominations for the 2011 Financial Services Industry Excellence Awards.

Awardees will be chosen for (1) Executive of the Year – CEO level; (2) Professional of the Year – Any level of Management or Supervision; (3) Achiever of the Year – Junior and Support levels; (4) Mentor of the Year; and (4) Financial Services Development and Promotion award. The deadline for nominations is 7th October, 2011.

This is the 11th year of the awards programme, and BFSB Chairman Paul Winder says, *“BFSB is pleased to host the awards programme, which recognises one of the most important assets of our financial services industry: people power”.* He points out that human resources development is of critical significance to the ongoing success of the financial services sector; indeed, capacity building remains a cornerstone of BFSB’s strategic planning process and ongoing programme of work.

The Industry Excellence Awards programme was launched in 2001 in collaboration with the Professional Industry Association Working Group (PIAWG) as part of the Financial Centre Focus (FCF) outreach designed to profile the industry. Specifically, this recognition programme profiles role models in the industry for their outstanding performance and contribution to the growth and development of the Bahamian financial services industry.
The Presentations Ceremony for the 2011 Financial Services Industry Excellence Awards has been scheduled for Friday, November 11th. Also to be announced at the Awards Ceremony will be the winner of the annual Financial Services Student of the Year Award, another recognition programme developed under the umbrella of the FCF.

See below for the nominations guidelines and forms. These also can be obtained from BFSB’s offices in the Goodman’s Bay Corporate Centre.

The **2010 Recipients** were

• Achiever of the Year: Dominique L. Glinton, Legal Administrator/Office Manager, Glinton Sweeting O’Brien

• Professional of the Year: Veronica Moncur-Sherman, Team
Head, Asia Desk, UBS Trustees (Bahamas) Ltd.

• Executive of the Year: John M. Lawrence, Chairman, Windermere Corporate Services Ltd.

• Mentor of the Year: Eve M. Burrows-Poitier, CFA

• Financial Services Development & Promotion Award: Pamela L. Klonaris LLB, LLM. TEP

• Student of the Year: Edmund T. Bain – BBA Accounting: