For the second consecutive year, the [Eugene Dupuch Law School]( was declared the overall winners of the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) International Law Moot.

Representing team EDLS at the 3rd annual CCJ International Law Moot held in Trinidad and Tobago, March 23, 2011, were Roderick Dawson Malone (Lead Counsel), Anishka Pennerman (Junior Counsel) and Wilfred Bain (Researcher). The team was successful in its round against the University of Technology (Jamaica) and came first overall. The Norman Manley Law School was the second place finisher and the Hugh Wooding Law School finished third. Other institutions participating in the competition were the University of Guyana, the University of the West Indies (Cave Hill) and Anton de Kom University of Suriname. Participants mooted before their Honours, The Hon. Mr. Justice Wit, The Hon. Mr. Justice Hayton and The Hon. Mr. Justice Anderson, three of the Judges of the CCJ.

The Court stated that the Eugene Dupuch Law School had presented the best skeleton arguments. The Court said that there was a very good strategy in the skeleton arguments which were backed up in the oral arguments of Lead Counsel, Roderick Malone. The Court said that it was well impressed with Mr. Malone, noting that he did ‘a very good job’, was professional in his presentation and responded well to the questions that were put to him. Mr. Malone, the court said, was well supported by Ms. Pennerman who, having looked at the various factors, dealt well with a tricky area of the law. The Court also observed that Ms. Pennerman was direct in her speech and ‘maintained eye contact which is always very good’.
Mr. Wilfred Bain’s research contribution to the team must also be acknowledged. On moot day Mr. Bain managed the Court’s technological aids during Mr. Malone’s and Ms. Pennerman’s presentations.

In closing comments, President of the CCJ, The Rt. Hon. Mr. Justice de la Bastide, said that the purpose of the Moot was to hone the advocacy skills of students who participate, to help to familiarise students with and bring alive to students the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas, to bring to the fore the original jurisdiction of the CCJ and to serve as an integration exercise bringing together students, tutors, principals, and supporters from around the region.

The Eugene Dupuch Law School opened its doors in Nassau, Bahamas to its first students in September 1998. Like its sibling schools, the Hugh Wooding Law School in Trinidad and Tobago and the Norman Manley Law School in Jamaica, which were both established in 1975, the Eugene Dupuch Law School prepares students for admission to practice in the Caribbean territories. To date, students who have graduated from the Eugene Dupuch Law School have come from Anguilla, Antigua, The Bahamas, Barbados, the Turks & Caicos Islands, the British Virgin Islands, Guyana, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, St. Kitts and Nevis, St.Vincent & The Grenadines and the U.S. Virgin Islands.