The Bahamas Financial Services Board (BFSB) hosted its 9th annual Industry Excellence Awards Ceremony last week, at which time the Recipients for the 2009 Executive of the Year, Professional of the Year and Achiever of the Year were announced – academy award style. Also announced at the awards ceremony was the Student of the Year 2009, and the recipient of an award recognising outstanding contribution to financial services sector policy and regulation.

The 2009 Recipients are:

##Executive of the Year ##

• Ivanhoe S. Sands, Managing Director, Credit Agricole Suisse (Bahamas) Limited

##Professional of the Year##

• Michael A. Munnings, Director-Retail Banking, Scotiabank (Bahamas) Ltd.

##Achiever of the Year##

• Rupina C. Barrett, Administrative Assistant, The Bank of Nova Scotia Trust Company (Bahamas) Ltd.

##Student of the Year##

• Jamere M. McIntosh – BBA Economics & Finance:

##Rowena G. Bethel##

Mrs. Bethel, Legal Advisor in the Ministry of Finance, was recognised for her outstanding performance and contribution to the sector in the policy and regulation arena.

The Hon. Branville McCartney, Minister of State for Immigration presented keynote remarks at the Awards Ceremony, and also participated in the presentations. He said, *“This commitment to the promotion and public recognition of excellence in the financial services industry is one of the surest ways of sustaining a culture of excellence and value within it. Designed as they are to honour outstanding performance and contributions made toward the industry’s growth and development, these awards are necessarily a clear demonstration of the
importance the industry attaches to its most valuable asset – its human resources.”*

The Minister also spoke to the dynamism of the industry, which he said is both challenging and rewarding. *“Financial Services has for more than four decades now been one of the twin pillars of our economy, providing benefits which go beyond its natural boundaries. It is a leading-edge sector which provides relatively high-level incomes, ensures cross-boarder innovative developments in technology, and establishes a connectedness to the outside world for smaller non-industrial economies.”*

Photos show the recipients receiving their awards from Minister Branville McCartney; Craig (Tony) Gomez, BFSB Chairman; and Wendy C. Warren, BFSB CEO & Executive Director. Joining the others on the stage for the presentation of the Student of the Year Award was Renee Barrow, HR Manager of SG Private Banking (Bahamas) Limited, primary sponsor of the Award.