The Bahamas Financial Services Board (BFSB) has announced the five finalists for the annual Financial Services Student of the Year award, selected from the 2009 Graduating Class of the College of The Bahamas.

These are:

* Kendra C.A. Culmer – BBA Accounting

* Jamere M. McIntosh – BBA Economics & Finance:

* Christina S. Murray – BBA Finance

* Keithra L. Sherman – BBA Marketing

* Khandise N. Smith – BBA Banking & Finance with Foreign Language

Again this year, the student award is being sponsored in collaboration with the College of the Bahamas, the Professional Industry Association Working Group and the Central Bank of the Bahamas. The objective of the programme is to recognise an outstanding graduating student from within the School of Business, College of the Bahamas. This includes all financial services relevant disciplines – economics, banking & finance, accountancy and law; and also extends to computer information systems, marketing, and management.

The criterion for initial selection is a GPA of 3.35 or above. Additional criteria include COB and community involvement. Integral components of the selection process are interviews to assess comportment and economic savvy and a written submission.

The student award programme is a part of BFSB’s ongoing [Financial Centre Focus]( (FCF) programme which seeks to integrate the industry with the wider community, and its various initiatives address issues such as the challenges impacting the sustained growth and development of the industry. CEO & Executive Director Wendy Warren points out that an essential part of the FCF’s overall objective is to attract and maintain qualified professionals. “*In this regard”,* she says, *“particular attention is placed on highlighting the importance of quality human resources to the industry, with initiatives such as the Student Award.”*

The 2009 FSI Student of the Year will be announced at BFSB’s [FSI Excellence Awards Ceremony]( on October 22 when BFSB also will announce the Executive of the Year, Professional of the Year, Achiever of the Year – as well as the winner of the 2009 Financial Services Development and Promotion Award.