The Bahamas Financial Services Board has launched the process to recognise an outstanding 2009 Graduate from within the School of Business, College of the Bahamas. The criterion for initial selection was based on academic performance as demonstrated by GPA. Additional criteria include COB and community involvement, special interests, further education, and work/other experience.

**Collaborative Effort of Industry Stakeholders**

This initiative has been a joint venture of BFSB, the College of the Bahamas, and the Central Bank of the Bahamas since 2002, with the Co-ordinating and Selection Committees comprising representatives from the three sponsoring agencies plus the Professional Industry Association Working Group (PIAWG) – a representative body for the various financial services industry-related associations here in The Bahamas.

**Financial Centre Focus**

The Student Award programme is an integral component of BFSB’s ongoing Financial Centre Focus (FCF) programme that addresses issues such as (a) challenges impacting the sustained growth and development of the industry; (b) improvements to the level of service; and (c) attracting and maintaining qualified professionals.


Next month, the Selection Committee will be completing interviews with the finalists, who will be announced thereafter. The 2009 “Student of the Year” will be recognised at BFSB’s [Annual Industry Excellence Awards Ceremony]( on October 22.

Again this year, SG Hambros Bank & Trust (Bahamas) Limited has come on board as sponsor of the FSI Student of the Year Award, while Credit Suisse Nassau Branch is supporting the student awards programme as a contributor.

Pictured are some members of the Working Group at an early planning session, along with Renee Barrow, Human Resources Manager, SG Hambros Bank & Trust.

Note: Members of the 2009 FSI Student Award Selection Committee include:

* Anastacia Johnson, Association of International Banks & Trust Companies in The Bahamas;
* Cyprianna Bethel, Central Bank of the Bahamas;
* Donna Nguyen-Comito, BFSB;
* Jeremy Dyck, CFA Society of the Bahamas;
* Joan Pinder, former Chair-School of Business, College of the Bahamas;
* Karen Lockhart, College of the Bahamas;
* Kim Bodie, Bahamas Institute of Financial Services;
* Marcia Seymour-Miles, College of the Bahamas;
* Mario Smith, Bahamas Association of Compliance Officers,
* Nadine Frazier, Insurance Institute of the Bahamas;
* Nicole Pratt-Rolle, Society of Trust & Estate Practitioners
* Roger Brown, Bahamas General Insurance Association;
* Zelma Wilson, Bahamas Institute of Chartered Accountants.