Finance Ministers representing the Nordic economies – Denmark, Faroe Islands, Finland, Greenland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden – have issued a Communiqué on tax cooperation issues. Specifically, the economies have announced plans to conclude a number of tax information exchange agreements within the next few years.

In addition to negotiations under way with **Aruba, the Isle of Man, Jersey** and **the Netherlands Antilles**, the Ministers say they are looking forward to starting negotiations with **Bermuda, the British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands** and **Guernsey.**

It seems that most jurisdictions contacted by the Nordic economies have reacted positively to their request for such agreements; but, the Ministers acknowledge that at some stage they may have to consider possible defensive measures against jurisdictions that do not co-operate – in order not to disadvantage jurisdictions that participate in the global effort to combat international tax evasion.