**Promoting Industry Growth & Development**

The Bahamas Financial Services Board (BFSB) is pleased to launch the 5th year of **Financial Centre Focus** (FCF), an ongoing public education and awareness programme.

This initiative was developed in 2001 to profile the industry and to co-ordinate programmes relating to human resource development — considered a key component in the continued success of The Bahamas as an international financial services centre.

A **Professional Industry Association Working Group** (PIAWG) was established in 2001 as well, constituting a major part in BFSB’s outreach to all stakeholders and gatekeepers in the development of strategies and long-term plans for the industry. The annual FCF has been sponsored in collaboration with the PIAWG since inception.

As a main element of the FCF, BFSB introduced the **Financial Services Industry Excellence Awards**, designed to recognise role models in the industry for outstanding performance and contribution to the growth and development of financial services in The Bahamas.

**MFSI Award**

Since 2002, the Hon. Allyson Maynard-Gibson, Minister of Financial Services and Investments, has presented a special **”Minister’s Award”** as an integral part of the annual initiative. Selection is based on excellence in financial services and Minister Maynard-Gibson says awardees *”exemplify excellence in all of its aspects and go above and beyond the call of duty.”*

The winner of the Minister’s Award 2004 was Mr. Robert Pantry, Credit Card Centre, RBC Royal Bank of Canada.

Previous winners of the Minister’s Award were:

2003: Pauline H.A. Creary-Lightbourne, General Manager, Banque SCS Alliance (Nassau) Ltd.

2002: Ian D. Fair, Founding Chairman of BFSB, and (then) Chairman, MeesPierson (Bahamas) Limited

**BFSB Industry Awards**

Other role models recognised by FSI Industry Awards have been:

***Executive of the Year***

2004: William Sands, President & CEO, Commonwealth Bank

2003: Heather Lynette Thompson, Partner, Higgs & Johnson

2002: G. Clifford Culmer, FCA, Partner, BDO Mann Judd

2001: Betty Roberts, Managing Director, SG Hambros Bank & Trust (Bahamas)

***Professional of the Year***

2004: Carmen Dianne Davis-Bingham, Manager, Private Banking, Scotiabank

2003: Cheryl E. Major-Bazard, Director of Compliance Professionals (Regional
Position), FirstCaribbean International Bank Bahamas

2002: Joan L. Thompson, Corporate Secretary/Manager, Corporate Department, MeesPierson (Bahamas) Limited

2001: Cecile B. Greene, CA, FLMI, Vice President, Finance, Family Guardian Insurance Company

***Achiever of the Year***

2004: Katriena M. Marshall, Member of Internal Control, BSI Overseas (Bahamas) Limited

2003: Alicetine Newbold, Office Administrator, Arner Bank & Trust

2002: Rayon A. Brown, Associate Actuary, Family Guardian Insurance Company

2001: Alden Gibson, Senior Client Accountant, Credit Suisse Trust Limited

This year, the **Excellence Awards Banquet** will be held on October 8 and BFSB will soon open nominations for candidates in each of the three categories above.

Nominations are open to the entire financial services industry including industry regulatory and supervisory agencies. Member firm Human Resources Managers, or individuals acting in a similar capacity, coordinate the nomination process within their organisations. A Blue Ribbon Panel selects the award recipients, who are announced for the first time at the Awards Banquet in October.

*Photo shows the Minister presenting the 2004 EOTY award to Mr. T. Baswell Donaldson, accepting it on behalf of Mr. William Sands*